Intro to Verse Novels: I Heart You, You Haunt Me by Lisa Schroeder

I Heart You, You Haunt Me

Since this whole class is optional, you can choose to participate (or not) whenever you wish.

However, if you choose to participate, we want to make clear our expectations for that participation.

  • Realize that you should have the book read before you read through the comments. Spoilers will likely appear in the conversations, so please do not be surprised or angry if this happens.

  • Bring reader questions and observations about the text. We will throw our own questions and observations out for you to consider,  but your questions and observations are as important and necessary in this as ours.

  • Please abide by the Thumper Rule when interacting with others:

  • Back up what you’re asking or saying with quotes and page numbers so that we can all follow along.

  • Think about and share possible thematic text connections (classics, YA lit, picture books, poetry, non fiction texts, news stories, movies, YouTube videos). This will be especially helpful information for the teachers among  us, but it’s good thinking for all of us.

Some additional housekeeping thoughts:

  • Please try to respond to be careful about responding to comments – keep main threads together, but try not to get where it is so indented that no one can read what you’re posting!
  • Also consider clicking “Notify me of follow-up comments via email.” when you post a comment. This will keep you informed of continued discussion without having to come back at random intervals to see if there is anything new.
  • Consider introducing yourself briefly in your first post and including a link for your blog if you have one.

GIVEAWAY OPPORTUNITY!

Lisa Schroeder is very excited that we’re discussing her book, so she has generously offered to give away a copy of I Heart You, You Haunt Me to two lucky winners!  Thank you, Lisa! 😀

  • US addresses only
  • Winners will be chosen randomly through random.org
  • Entries will be based on number of participators, not how much you participate (comment).
  • The giveaway ends tomorrow (Friday, July 26th) at 10 pm EST.
  • The winners will contacted via email.

    **UPDATE**
    The giveaway winners are the second and third participants (not including Sarah & Cindy), Andrea and BJ! Both participants have been emailed and will receive a copy of their book from Lisa Schroeder.
    Verse Novel Winner 2--AndreaVerse Novel Winner 1--BJ

ONE FINAL WARNING:

THERE WILL BE SPOILERS IN THIS DISCUSSION!

DO NOT PROCEED IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE BOOK!

This entry was posted in Summer 2013, Verse Novel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Intro to Verse Novels: I Heart You, You Haunt Me by Lisa Schroeder

  1. I have to replace I Heart You, You Haunt Me almost every year because it always goes missing from my classroom library. This is an excellent book to use when introducing students to verse novels because the story is wonderful and powerful and the verse is excellent. Lisa has a few other verse novels that are also great, so if you introduce this book to your students be prepared for requests for more of her books 🙂

    • Jen Eiserman says:

      I didn’t have a chance to read this one because I didn’t order it in time and couldn’t track it down at my public library. Based on your students’ reactions to it, it looks like I might as well buy it and add it to the shelf. I’m always looking for more verse novels – my students eat up Ellen Hopkins and after that, I feel like I’m lacking in recommendations. I’m glad I can add this to my list!

      • It’s worth buying a copy, especially since it’s in paperback now. Have you read anything by Sonya Sones? My girls, and even some of my boys, really like What My Mother Doesn’t Know and the follow-up What My Girlfriend Doesn’t Know.

      • I was just about to suggest you check out Sonya Sones and then I read Sarah’s comment. I second her recommendation.

      • Jen Eiserman says:

        Thanks ladies! I’m excited to bolster up my selection of verse novels in my classroom library. Great recommendations! I also checked out Walter Dean Myers’ Street Love at my library. Any experiences with that one?

      • I haven’t heard of Street Love. I’ll have to look for it at our library.

  2. I like the way this book told a moving story in a very accessible format. I don’t usually like ghost stories, but I know my students love them. This one is great because the ghost isn’t overly creepy but he plays a key role in the story and in the main character’s development. I am sure that my students will LOVE this one!

  3. BJ Neary says:

    One of our reading teachers does a unit on novels in verse and all of Lisa’s books are in demand. Novels in verse have been in demand in our school for the last five years. Lisa’s books are great because the girls love the romance aspect in her titles. But don’t just stop at the realistic titles (other authors- Ellen Hopkins, Thalia Chaltas, Steven Herrick, Ronald Koertge, Carol Lynch Williams and G. Garcia McCall); there are many great novels in verse that are historical fiction (Helen Frost, Jen Bryant, Ann Burg,Stephanie Hemphill, and Jame Richards); try them; you’ll like them! The students do.

    • The only historical fiction verse authors I know of from your list are Ann Burg and Stephanie Hemphill. Thanks for the recommendations!

    • CBethM says:

      I see several names on here that I need to investigate (mostly the historical fiction ones – that’s a bookgap for me) – thank you! Keep an eye out for Ron Koertge’s newest coming out October 8 – Coaltown Jesus.

    • Terry says:

      I believe Karen Hesse has done some historical novels in verse, though those are supposedly aimed at younger grades (Out of the Dust is one of my ALL TIME FAVORITE BOOKS OF ALL TIME, and every single friend of mine who read it [at my INSISTENCE] said they found it “too depressing”. Hmph! Well, you know, the Dust Bowl wasn’t exactly fun, you know! Sheesh.)

  4. CBethM says:

    I have noticed that my students who are familiar with grief gravitate towards this title (and others, of course – among them A Monster Calls and See You at Harry’s). The appeal of verse books for most of my students has been the speed with which the narrative moves. Less words means it all moves faster. It also means they can reread this over and over – and the feeling of relief that the end brings can be experienced over and over again.

  5. Denise Keogh says:

    My h.s. creative writing students are required to read and evaluate a novel in verse. I Heart You is always one of the first to be snagged. Teenagers love the heart break and the healing.

  6. Terry says:

    I thought this was lovely and also chilling; I admit…I was a little spooked by it! I felt it ended a tiny bit abruptly, but, I’m noticing that things like that affect me as an adult reader, but I would think teen readers don’t see it that way.

    I’m glad someone brought up Sonya Sones–when I went to the library to get books for this “unit” 🙂 I picked up some of hers, as well. I think Stop Pretending is powerful, and I only sort-of liked One of those Hideous Books Where the Mother Dies, because the narrator was a little unlikable, to me, and I could see the plot twists/reveals coming a MILE away, but I don’t know that teens would. (I also thought the description of her peers at the private school was a little thin…I could never tell what the kids were *really* like).

    One thing I noticed after reading all three of these books in a row is that they all deal with a young woman who gets through a troubled time in her life through a relationship with a boy. It just happened to strike me, and I’m suuuuuure I am putting TOO much emphasis on this, but I wish sometimes the young women characters could transform their lives on their own, or in other ways, not just by…adding a boyfriend to their lives, or getting over a previous boyfriend by…getting a new one. Hmm.

    • Jen S says:

      Terry, I agree with you! Not in verse, but I like Sarah Dessen’s books for that reason. Stronger female characters that aren’t always “pining and yearning.”

  7. Jen S says:

    The thing I love about verse novels (and I’m sure teens love this too) is that I can usually read them in a day. The story zooms along and often there are some clever literary elements that can be discussed. I liked I Heart You…. I hadn’t read any of Schroeder’s books before, and I’m always amazed at how many verse novels are out there “hiding” in the stacks! I can see that teenage girls would eat this up.

  8. Kim McSorley says:

    This is by far one of my favorite books, ever! I read it in one sitting. I could not put it down. I wanted to know what happened to Jackson. I also felt for Ava. I loved this book and have already looked up more of Lisa Schroeder’s work. I think I may have found a new author to add to my list! I am thankful that Lisa shared Ava and Jackson’s story with us. Beautiful!

  9. Kim McSorley says:

    I love this book! Today I was at my school setting up the school wide book room and came across 6 copies of I heart you, you haunt me. I did a happy dance and shouted for joy! I know that I will use this book with a 8th grade reading group. Cannot wait!

Leave a Reply

