Intro to Contemporary YA: When You Were Here by Daisy Whitney

 

Since this whole class is optional, you can choose to participate (or not) whenever you wish.

However, if you choose to participate, we want to make clear our expectations for that participation.

  • Realize that you should have the book read before you read through the comments. Spoilers will likely appear in the conversations, so please do not be surprised or angry if this happens.

  • Bring reader questions and observations about the text. We will throw our own questions and observations out for you to consider,  but your questions and observations are as important and necessary in this as ours.

  • Please abide by the Thumper Rule when interacting with others:

  • Back up what you’re asking or saying with quotes and page numbers so that we can all follow along.

  • Think about and share possible thematic text connections (classics, YA lit, picture books, poetry, non fiction texts, news stories, movies, YouTube videos). This will be especially helpful information for the teachers among  us, but it’s good thinking for all of us.

Some additional housekeeping thoughts:

  • Please try to respond to be careful about responding to comments – keep main threads together, but try not to get where it is so indented that no one can read what you’re posting!
  • Also consider clicking “Notify me of follow-up comments via email.” when you post a comment. This will keep you informed of continued discussion without having to come back at random intervals to see if there is anything new.
  • Consider introducing yourself briefly in your first post and including a link for your blog if you have one.

ONE FINAL WARNING:

THERE WILL BE SPOILERS IN THIS DISCUSSION!

DO NOT PROCEED IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE BOOK!

About CBethM

I'm a book lover and technology geek who happens to also be a high school English teacher, National Writing Project teacher consultant, and certified school librarian. The opinions I offer here are reflective of my thoughts and opinions and not that of my employer, family, or friends.
This entry was posted in Contemporary YA. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Intro to Contemporary YA: When You Were Here by Daisy Whitney

  1. Denise Keogh says:

    Throughout the book I wanted to grab Danny and tell him to think of someone else! I do realize that while in grief we all center on ourselves, and I had to keep reminding myself of this. My students do not have homes in other countries, so I don’t know how many would accept the whole Tokyo escape situation at first. However, I think the story is strong enough to carry them over that and show them that not everyone lives the same life.

    • I didn’t reread this before this discussion, so it’s been a while since I’ve read this and I don’t remember feeling that way about him. But I can understand why you felt that way and why students might feel the same. The Tokyo escape is convenient for the story, but I wonder if we could use this as a conversation starter with our students about how we deal with grief, especially if we can’t escape.

  2. Terry says:

    Wow, not one single library in my city has this book, nor the library system the next town over! I’m bummed. Maybe because it’s such a new release? Hmm. Is it worth requesting the library system to order it for their teen department (not just for me! I won’t get it in time for this discussion, but it’s nice to think of other people who might want to read it)? 🙂

Leave a Reply

