Intro to Historical Fiction: Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

Code Name Verity US

Elizabeth Wein’s website (Includes extra info about Code  Name Verity)

Since this whole class is optional, you can choose to participate (or not) whenever you wish.

However, if you choose to participate, we want to make clear our expectations for that participation.

  • Realize that you should have the book read before you read through the comments. Spoilers will likely appear in the conversations, so please do not be surprised or angry if this happens.

  • Bring reader questions and observations about the text. We will throw our own questions and observations out for you to consider,  but your questions and observations are as important and necessary in this as ours.

  • Please abide by the Thumper Rule when interacting with others:

  • Back up what you’re asking or saying with quotes and page numbers so that we can all follow along.

  • Think about and share possible thematic text connections (classics, YA lit, picture books, poetry, non fiction texts, news stories, movies, YouTube videos). This will be especially helpful information for the teachers among  us, but it’s good thinking for all of us.

Some additional housekeeping thoughts:

  • Please try to respond to be careful about responding to comments – keep main threads together, but try not to get where it is so indented that no one can read what you’re posting!
  • Also consider clicking “Notify me of follow-up comments via email.” when you post a comment. This will keep you informed of continued discussion without having to come back at random intervals to see if there is anything new.
  • Consider introducing yourself briefly in your first post and including a link for your blog if you have one.

ONE FINAL WARNING:

THERE WILL BE SPOILERS IN THIS DISCUSSION!

DO NOT PROCEED IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE BOOK!

This entry was posted in Historical Fiction, Summer 2013 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Intro to Historical Fiction: Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

  1. Taryn H. says:

    This book is my current favorite of favorites. It is a beautifully written love story about the friendship between Maddie and Julie, and I loved every bit of it. I cried my eyes out at the end, and for several months as I passed the book around to students and friends, they would let me know when they reached the climax and I would cry all over again. Code Name Verity is so beautifully written– I just love it.

    I actually just finished a galley of Rose Under Fire, the sequel, last week. Still an excellent tale about another pilot and the “Rabbits” of Ravensbruek concentration camp.

    • Terry says:

      THERE IS A SEQUEL!??!?!?! *runs off to the library* *runs back, panting* It is now on my Christmas wish list..but I’ll probably buy it long before Christmas! Thanks for the info!

  2. Terry says:

    If you liked this book, do check out Marge Piercy’s Gone to Soldiers, one of my all-time favorite books…probably in my top-five favorite books of my ENTIRE LIFE. I re-read it roughly every two years and in odd moments I will sometimes think of the characters and wonder what their lives were like after the war. In fact, I actually thought of some of the characters from Gone to Soldiers as I read Code Name Verity! So… I hope that makes some of you interested in reading Gone to Soldiers. 🙂

    ANYWAY, WOW. WOWOWOWOWOW. I loved this book. When I got to *that part on the bridge* I practically fell out of my chair and gasped put the book down and fanned myself and then had to explain to the other people in the office what I was doing. (Ha.) OH MY GOSH. What an amazing read! It’s definitely right up my alley personally, as my Polish mother has many clear memories of World War II and I have grown up with a connection to it. But just as it is I would so heartily recommend it to younger readers! (I was a bit concerned about all the torture/violence in the beginning but, I mean, it’s a book about WAR.) And just…beautifully written, exciting, heartbreaking, thrilling, saddening… What a great book to introduce to and discuss with young women, especially.

    I wonder if this would be a good book for middle school/high school “social studies”/history teachers to use if their school is following the Common Core in their history classes…? I don’t know quite enough about it to say so, but, I would think so.

    All around a terrific read…a terrific experience; thank you so much for putting this book into my hands!

  3. Terry says:

    I’m noticing typos in both of my comments and I’m heartily embarrassed; chalk it up to over-excitement!!!

  4. Taryn H. says:

    Terry, If you haven’t read it yet, I think you should read Suite Francaise by Irene Nemerovsky. Irene Nemerovksy was a French writer and started writing this book about the occupation of France in 1940, but she was a Jew and was arrested and sent to Auschwitz in 1942. It was originally meant to be part of a 5 part series. Irene’s daughters found her manuscript in the early 2000’s and had it published. The first part is a story about the German occupation of France, and the second part is her handwritten notes from her journals about how she planned on continuing her story. Beautifully written.

    The bridge is also my favorite, if not most heart wrenching scenes. I love that intake of breath from Julie as she recognizes Maddie and shouts out, “Kiss me Hardy! Make it quick.” Tears. Every time.

    • Terry says:

      Yes! Suite Francaise is *so* amazing. It is also so heart-breaking. I actually read the Appendix with the letters and it was so upsetting and heartrending I had to put the book aside for a while, and I almost NEVER do that.

      And yes–when she says that Julie turns her head aside “to make it easier for me”–! Just such an amazing scene all around.

      And do check out Gone to Soldiers if you like Suite Francaise and Code Name Verity!

  5. Sarah says:

    I still haven’t been able to finish this book. I’m not even 10% in, but every time I try to read more I fall asleep. I’m just not into it, but after reading everyone’s comments I WANT to be into this book. Ugh. I don’t know what to do because there are so many other books I need to/want to read.

    • Terry says:

      🙂 Don’t forget one of the “rights of the reader” is to stop reading! Just because some people are into it, doesn’t mean EVERYONE will be. (I often find myself consistently loathing best-sellers that everyone on the planet seems to love, so, there you go.) So give yourself permission to put it aside. 🙂

    • CBethM says:

      You know…I got it as an audio book and I’m still struggling to finish it. Maybe it’s just not our book…

Leave a Reply

