Intro to Dystopian: Legend by Marie Lu

Legend

Since this whole class is optional, you can choose to participate (or not) whenever you wish.

However, if you choose to participate, we want to make clear our expectations for that participation.

  • Realize that you should have the book read before you read through the comments. Spoilers will likely appear in the conversations, so please do not be surprised or angry if this happens.

  • Bring reader questions and observations about the text. We will throw our own questions and observations out for you to consider,  but your questions and observations are as important and necessary in this as ours.

  • Please abide by the Thumper Rule when interacting with others:

  • Back up what you’re asking or saying with quotes and page numbers so that we can all follow along.

  • Think about and share possible thematic text connections (classics, YA lit, picture books, poetry, non fiction texts, news stories, movies, YouTube videos). This will be especially helpful information for the teachers among  us, but it’s good thinking for all of us.

Some additional housekeeping thoughts:

  • Please try to respond to be careful about responding to comments – keep main threads together, but try not to get where it is so indented that no one can read what you’re posting!
  • Also consider clicking “Notify me of follow-up comments via email.” when you post a comment. This will keep you informed of continued discussion without having to come back at random intervals to see if there is anything new.
  • Consider introducing yourself briefly in your first post and including a link for your blog if you have one.

ONE FINAL WARNING:

THERE WILL BE SPOILERS IN THIS DISCUSSION!

DO NOT PROCEED IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE BOOK!

This entry was posted in Dystopian, Summer 2013 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Intro to Dystopian: Legend by Marie Lu

  1. I’m a big fan of Legend. Every student who has read it really liked it. It has two appealing narrators, one male and one female, and the pace is excellent. Marie Lu came to our local library last summer. I wrote a blog post about it, but I’ll include a couple of quotes here from the q-and-a portion of her presentation:

    One audience member asked Marie if any parts of Legend were based on her own experience. Marie said, “The Trials were directly inspired by the SATs. I thought they were life and death.” When asked why she chose Los Angeles as the setting for Legend, she said, “LA is already a little dystopian, so it wasn’t too hard to imagine it as more dystopian.”

    If anyone is interested in the entire blog post, you can find it here: http://whatsnotwrong.wordpress.com/2012/08/21/marie-lu-and-legend-come-to-town/

    If anyone has read Prodigy, I’m wondering if it is as satisfying as Legend. I’ve been disappointed in quite a few second installments of series. Thanks.

    • Taryn H. says:

      I really liked Prodigy, so I hope you’ll try it. What I liked about the Legend series is that I have some kids who really want to explore the dystopian genre, but as 6th graders, their parents don’t like a lot of the violence that is usually attached to it. I think this is pretty mild in that aspect and hope it will gain better traction in checkouts this year, now that I’ve read it.

    • Terry says:

      Wow, I’m so glad you commented on this book…the two copies in the ENTIRE town are checked out, so I’ll see if I can get the e-book from the library. Since it references Los Angeles, and has both male & female voices, I’m especially interested in reading it!

    • Jen Eiserman says:

      I thought Prodigy was fantastic! I, too, get disappointed by some second installments, but this one didn’t let me down.

  2. BJ Neary says:

    I just read Legend for this little discussion and can’t wait to read Prodigy! Gary, I enjoy the installments for many YA books (let me know if you want some of my recommendations). What we did in my high school reading club which included about 10 students, was a Skype discussion. My school students read Delirium by Lauren Oliver and the other high school read Legend. The reason we did this was—-my school had 7 copies of Delirium and the other school was able to get Nook copies of Legend. We had a discussion of the books along the lines of all the dystopian aspects of the books – similarities and differences. It was a hit! The students came up with questions and the discussion was quite lively. This is something that worked and we will continue it this year. It is simple, easy and the students were able to connect about their love of these books, all things dystopian, and discuss characters, settings, plots, etc.

  3. Jen Eiserman says:

    Legend is one of my top book recommendations for students; it’s probably up there as one of my favorite books, right along with Divergent. We started school on Monday and my copy as well as the library’s three copies already have waiting lists – oh the power of book talks.

    I really enjoy the two different perspectives in the novel – especially since they are male and female. It’s almost as if there are too many female narrators in dystopian books – gasp – following in the footsteps of Katniss. The dichotomy between June and Day’s stories adds so much tension to the novel. I think the pacing of this book is excellent and you really get into the story right away (a common student complaint about the Hunger Games).

    I can’t wait for Champion to be released; although I’m nervous it won’t end the way I;m hoping.

  4. Terry says:

    I wasn’t as crazy about this book, but I think that’s simply because it’s not my favored genre. I think the writing is very accessible for teen readers and I really appreciated that part, and I liked the strong characters with strong personalities and strong “codes of honor” (hmm, as I write this review, I see that there is more to recommend the book than I thought! That’s a good discovery for me!).

    I am curious whether all of you have any thoughts on why dystopian/sci fi/fantasy are so wildly popular with middle school/high school students?

Leave a Reply

